什么是风险债权?

风险债权是面向已经获得早期资本支持公司的一种债权融资形式。风险债权通常是风险投资的补充,通过在筹集新一轮资本时最大限度地减少股权稀释,为快速增长的公司及其现有投资者提供价值。与传统的银行贷款不同,风险债权适用于初创公司和成长型公司,这些公司不一定拥有正现金流或硬资产作为抵押品。

 

获得风险债权的时机?

风险债权目标客户群通常是已经创造收入但却因缺乏多年的经营历史而不能获得传统银行贷款的公司。风险债权通常与股权融资共同推进,在减少创始人和现有股东的股权稀释方面可以发挥重要作用。

风险债权的典型用途?

借款人通常不会限制公司使用风险债权的方式。风险债权可用于融资增长,为意外情况做准备,企业一般运营,融资盈利和融资收购。获得风险债权款的好处是提供资金以加速增长,实现更高的估值和/或为意外情况做足准备。因为风险债权允许公司在不放弃额外股权的情况下筹集资金,所以对现有股东总是利好。

选择风险债权的时间点?

案例1:

在这个场景下, 某公司刚获得A轮融资,需将未来现金流周期延长至15个月,届时可达到一定的估值。然而,获得A轮融资两个月后,该公司发现有在当地开拓新市场的机会(加速增长)。但即便想抓住这个机会,当初却并没有留出多余资金来支持。该公司陷入窘境,如若选择将A轮资金用于加速增长,那现金流无法支撑15个月的经营;若选择放弃这个机会,又会错失增加估值的可能。

获得风险债权融资可以解决这一问题。短短两个月,公司估值尚与获A轮融资时相差不大。通过使用风险债权,公司不必在这种情况下找股权投资人寻求额外资金,同时也无需缩短现金流周期,放弃未来15个月所做的预算计划。通过获得风险债权,公司能够把握新机会,维持15个月的现金流,甚至还有可能提升下一轮的估值。

案例2:

在这个场景下, 某公司刚获得A轮融资,需将未来现金流周期延长至15个月,届时可达到一定的估值。但事情未能按计划发展,由于意外延误,该公司未能完成预设的阶段目标,也因此耗尽了A轮资金,有可能要筹集不太理想的B轮融资。

解决这一问题,可以在A轮融资的同时获得风险债权,从而为不能完成预定计划的意外情况做足准备。因此,公司也许能够延长现金流周期,在资金耗尽和获得B轮融资之前完成必要的阶段目标。

案例3:

在这个场景下,某公司正在寻求B轮融资。其创始人有所顾虑,因为新一轮融资意味着他们不得不进一步稀释股权,甚至失去对公司的主导权。

解决这一问题,可以在推进B轮融资时,通过股权债权结合的方式进行融资。这样该公司一般能够筹得所期待的资金数目,也符合风险债权款人风险债权和股权融资共同推进的期望,更重要的是帮助创始人减少股权稀释。

保持联络

What is Venture Lending?

Venture loans are a type of debt financing typically provided to venture-backed companies. Venture loans are generally a complement to venture capital and provide value to fast growing companies and their existing investors by minimizing equity dilution when raising new rounds of capital. Unlike traditional bank lending, venture loans are catered towards startups and growth companies that do not necessarily have positive cashflow or hard assets to use as collateral.

When is the right time for taking a Venture Loan?

The target market for venture loans is typically when a company is generating revenue but does not have the years of operating history to obtain a traditional bank facility. Venture loans are generally taken alongside an equity financing round and can play a significant role in reducing equity dilution for founders and existing shareholders.

What are the typical uses for a Venture Loan?

Borrowers are not typically limited in the way that they use venture loans; the loans can be used towards financing growth, cushioning for the unexpected, general corporate purposes, funding to profitability and financing acquisitions. The benefits of taking a venture loan is to provide funds to accelerate growth, achieve higher valuations and/or cushion for the unexpected. In all cases, venture loans are beneficial for existing shareholders because it allows a company to raise capital without giving up additional equity.

When should I take a Venture Loan?

Use Case #1:

In this scenario, the company has just raised a Series A round, which is expected to extend its cash runway for 15 months at which point the company has projected to achieve a certain valuation. However, two months after closing its Series A, the company realizes that there is an opportunity to open a new market in the region (accelerate growth), and wants to seize the opportunity but did not allocate extra cash to do so. The company is left with a predicament – it can either use its Series A funds towards accelerating growth and thus reducing its cash runway to less than 15 months, or it can decide to miss the opportunity and therefore also miss the potential to increase its valuation.

A solution would be to take a venture loan. By taking a loan, the company does not need to return to its equity investors after a short 2-month period to ask for additional capital at a similar valuation as its Series A round and it does not need to reduce its cash runway and give up opportunities that were already budgeted for in the next 15 months. By taking a venture loan, the company would be able to seize the new opportunity, maintain its cash runway of 15 months and even potentially increase valuation in that time.

Use Case #2:

In this scenario, the company has just raised a Series A round, which is expected to extend its cash runway for 15 months at which point the company has projected to achieve a certain valuation. However, things do not always go as planned and the company was unable to meet its projected milestones due to unexpected delays. Therefore, it burnt through the capital raised in its Series A round and will likely raise a flat Series B round.

A solution could have been to raise a venture loan alongside its Series A round in order to plan (cushion) for the unexpected scenario that it would not meet its projected plan. Thus, the company would have likely been able to extend its cash runway and achieve the necessary milestones prior to running out of cash and having to raise a Series B round of financing.

Use Case #3:

In this scenario, a company is looking to raise a Series B round. Its founders are hesitant, as raising a round now would mean they would have to dilute their shareholding even further and lose control of the company.

A solution could be to raise a venture loan alongside its Series B round by raising a part-equity and part-debt round. By doing so, it would allow the company to raise its desired amount of capital, adhere to a venture lender’s typical expectation to come alongside an equity financing round and most importantly allow the founders to reduce their equity dilution.

Stay Updated